Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#424 - 03/21/01 10:53 AM Potassium Permanganate
Anonymous
Unregistered

I'm new to hiking and found your site on survival kits but I have a question. What is the use of Potassium Permanganate Crystals for? Also, what would the ratio be of potassium permanganate to water?<br><br>

#425 - 03/21/01 05:49 PM Re: Potassium Permanganate
Aeroscout Offline
newbie member

Loc: Michigan
I also had the same question 2 years ago. It has taken a lot of searching to find the answer. Please remember that PP is a chemical and I’m only listing the general consensus on the use of this chemical, nothing scientific. Most of this information I found here on the previous survival forum.<br>Potassium Permanganate- Mix with water until bright pink for water purification, deep pink for antiseptic use or deep red to treat fungal diseases. It doesn’t take much to get these levels. Use as a fire starter when mixed 1 part to 2 parts respectively with sugar and if impacted between rocks it should ignite. This works best with decent quantities.<br>Alternatively, 10-30 drops of glycerin into two or three pinches will create enough heat or fire to ignite prepared tinder. (most antifreeze contains a high percent of glycerin.)<br>Some concerns I have are that while trying to find a place to buy the chemical every pharmacist (at least 15) I talked to had heard of it but hadn’t sold it for years. Probably because there are now chemical combinations available to treat fungal disease that work better. But perhaps it was found to be harmful? Also not many of the new survival books talk about it and if they do it’s brief and unhelpful. <br> I hope this helped.<br><br><br>

#426 - 03/21/01 07:03 PM Re: Potassium Permanganate
Anonymous
Unregistered