Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#295349 - 03/21/20 07:29 PM Helping our ETS Community
chaosmagnet Offline
Sheriff
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: USA
Do you need help with something while you’re sheltering in place? I’m honestly not sure what we as a group can actually do for any of our members besides providing companionship, expertise and advice, but I for one am willing to try.

Here’s an example of how we can communicate on this matter:

Needs: The Magnet family is fine, we’re a little cooped up and have some concerns about our security situation degrading, but currently it’s not a big worry.

Wants: Ideas on how to get my teenagers to be less difficult. We’re not doing too badly there overall.

How I can help others: I’m an IT and cybersecurity professional, long-time ham radio operator, reasonably good with electronics and small engines, and the lead trainer on preparedness topics for my local CERT and for my local training collective. I’m also a firearms instructor and have started providing basic familiarization training via FaceTime for new gun owners. There may be other things that I can do that it hasn’t occurred to me to list here.

chaosmagnet

#295350 - 03/21/20 09:09 PM Re: Helping our ETS Community [Re: chaosmagnet]
dougwalkabout Offline
Crazy Canuck
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Alberta, Canada
Chaos, a lot of people have kids at home now, needing onine school access and free games. I know several who have spare Win7 machines but are scared to turn the kids loose on them now that support has ended.

Any thoughts on locking down a Win7 box as much as possible to reduce the risk?

#295352 - 03/21/20 09:28 PM Re: Helping our ETS Community [Re: chaosmagnet]
nursemike Offline
Old Hand

Loc: wellington, fl
Raised 4 teenagers, had to sit out some road closure 3 day blizzards with them: I feel your pain.