Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#279760 - 02/26/16 03:56 PM Re: Equipped for CAS - new tools from Uberti [Re: clearwater]
M_a_x Offline
Veteran

Loc: Germany
I am still learning. It still is fun as I started with realistic expectations.
Some buddies try to cut ammo cost. They chose to reload .38 Special which is a very poor choice in Germany. They use the cheapest components they can get (and still donīt beat the price per round of factory ammo). The result is a failure to fire rate at about 3% due to the quality of the primers. Thatīs no fun as they are guaranteed to have at least one shot not go off in every match or practice session.

#279761 - 02/26/16 04:02 PM Re: Equipped for CAS - new tools from Uberti [Re: LesSnyder]
M_a_x Offline
Veteran

Originally Posted By: LesSnyder
reloading helps support re-cycling smile 164# of 9mm brass

Technically that is reusing. That is even better than recycling.
I give away my 9mm brass to shooting buddies. I do not shoot it much and some factory ammo is cheaper than .22lr. I prefer revolvers because they do not distribute the brass on the entire range floor.

#279762 - 02/26/16 04:15 PM Re: Equipped for CAS - new tools from Uberti [Re: Phaedrus]
M_a_x Offline
Veteran

You are lucky with that. For me it had negative side effects. With more practice time the impact tends to be closer to the center of the target. So I do not only shoot more for actually more money. I also have expenses for travelling to matches I would not have shot before. That is made worse by the fact that I decided to get a license for black powder as well when I took the class for reloading (in Germany you need to take a class and have a license). I had to buy a percussion cap rifle and flintlock rifle and attend some extra matches.
On the other hand itīs great to find your name on the upper part of the score lists.