Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#286713 - 10/11/17 07:49 PM Fishing gear...
Russ Offline
Geezer

Loc: SOCAL
Any fishing experience in the forum? None here. A few years ago I received a SHAKESPEARE® CONTENDER® SPINNING COMBO as a gift for 5 years with a company. A list was provided from which to pick my gift and I figured a fishing pole was appropriate wink and I didn’t have one.

Question — Considering the rod & reel combo: 6’, 2 section rod; the spinning reel is spec’d to take up to 110 yards of 8# monofilament. So what kind of fishing is this set-up good for? Fly fishing? Bass? Trout? Probably not Steel Head or Salmon.

What would be a good starting set-up wrt line, hooks, weights, lures et al? I have no reel (hee hee) idea. I have no fishing experience and I don’t have any relationship with Shakespeare. Any ideas?

#286714 - 10/11/17 09:40 PM Re: Fishing gear... [Re: Russ]
KenK Offline
"Be Prepared"
Pooh-Bah

Loc: NE Wisconsin
I'm interested in hearing what people's advice is.

99.9% of my fishing throughout my 50+ years has been with a worm on a hook - mostly looking for panfish and yellow perch. I usually had a smallish hook with a clamp on weight 8-10 inches above it, and then I used a bobber to watch for bites. I HATE when they swallow the hook before I can set it!!!

On one trip somewhere - as a kid - we were using plastic worms to fish for Northern Pike - with some success. They were fun to catch but the panfish were much better to eat.