Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#283478 - 01/22/17 02:28 PM Re: Cost of rechqrgeable baatteries vs. alkalines [Re: hikermor]
M_a_x Offline
Veteran

Loc: Germany
Ok, I see.
So it is "Buy a good charger for $40." instead of "Buy a good charged for $40.". That makes it much clearer.
I switched to rechargeables quite a bit of time ago. Considering the amount of cells, I have in use, the cost per cell for the charger is almost negligible.

#283479 - 01/22/17 02:49 PM Re: Cost of rechqrgeable baatteries vs. alkalines [Re: M_a_x]
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal
I was surprised to see how much money can be saved by rechargeables...

#283481 - 01/22/17 03:45 PM Re: Cost of rechqrgeable baatteries vs. alkalines [Re: hikermor]
M_a_x Offline
Veteran

Loc: Germany
I am an engineer. We are not easily surprised wink. However I was pleased with the result of the estimate.
I usually gather boundary conditions, make assumptions if required and run the numbers. I might double check if the result does not match the initial gut feelings.
An additional knock out criterium for the alkalines was the disposal. On some weekends I run through up to 24 AA cells and maybe 1 9V battery for amateur radio equipment. It would literally hurt to haul that amount of cells to the store and throw it into their disposal box (as is the law here) on a weekly basis.

#283491 - 01/23/17 12:09 AM Re: Cost of rechqrgeable baatteries vs. alkalines [Re: hikermor]
Russ Offline
Geezer

Loc: SOCAL
As mentioned in the home kit thread, we're looking at some possibly heavy rain passing through and in case the lights going out, I dropped a CountyComm AAA light in my pocket as a just in case. Pure copper body and you know I didn't use an alkaline battery -- Eneloops only in that light.

#283532 - 01/25/17 02:07 AM Re: Cost of rechqrgeable baatteries vs. alkalines [Re: hikermor]