Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 3 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
#281434 - 07/21/16 08:15 PM Re: Musical Instruments and Survival Situations? [Re: Russ]
M_a_x Offline
Veteran

Loc: Germany
For bug-out I might prefer one of the plastic models. The are much less sensitive to moisture, usually cheap and probably good enough for most of us.
For use in non-emergency scenarios I got a Hohner Marine Band. It makes a difference.

#281435 - 07/21/16 08:26 PM Re: Musical Instruments and Survival Situations? [Re: M_a_x]
Russ Offline
Geezer

Loc: SOCAL
+1 on the Hohner Marine Band harmonica. The Marine Band 1896 is a classic and the price is not out of reach to even a beginner. No affiliation, I'm a beginner and I'm not even big on blues.

#281436 - 07/21/16 09:09 PM Re: Musical Instruments and Survival Situations? [Re: dougwalkabout]
wildman800 Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: La-USA
I sometimes bring an Irish Whistle. I don't know how to play it but I enjoy playing with it.

#281437 - 07/21/16 10:33 PM Re: Musical Instruments and Survival Situations? [Re: Russ]
Mark_R Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Southern California
I'm partial to the Lee Oskar diatonic. They're a bit cheaper then the Hohner's, completely synthetic (stainless, brass, and plastic) and have a bright sound that projects a good distance.

The object in life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane

#281438 - 07/21/16 10:53 PM Re: Musical Instruments and Survival Situations? [Re: Mark_R]
Russ Offline
Geezer

Is that brighter sound true across all 13(?) keys? If it is that would be a good signaling tool in a survival situation. Maybe not as good as some of the louder whistles, but dual purpose is often a compromise.

#281439 - 07/21/16 11:25 PM Re: Musical Instruments and Survival Situations? [Re: dougwalkabout]
Mark_R Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Southern California