Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#280501 - 04/29/16 07:51 PM Found an interesting new thing to learn...
haertig Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Colorado
... Celestial Navigation

I'm studying it, online course materials, with the help of a friend who is experienced with it.

Probably not too much practical use for me, since I've never done an ocean voyage of any kind, much less tried to navigate one (they probably all use GPS now anyways, with Cel Nav only as a backup).

Still, it's fun to learn! Exercise the brain learning new stuff.

Now, I just need to find myself a Sextant Shop. Those seem pretty rare here in Colorado...

#280502 - 04/29/16 08:22 PM Re: Found an interesting new thing to learn... [Re: haertig]
Russ Offline
Geezer

Loc: SOCAL
For your purpose, the Davis Mark 3 Marine Sextant is a good option. I've got one and it works well, good for training.

Since you're in CO, you can make an artificial horizon with a dish of water. Works really well for backyard practice.

#280505 - 04/30/16 07:08 AM Re: Found an interesting new thing to learn... [Re: haertig]
M_a_x Offline
Veteran

Loc: Germany
I did the same a few years ago (also with no real use for it). This is what I used:
http://www.amazon.com/Sextants-Cardboard...xtant+cardboard

There is also an artificial horizon kit for it. That is basically a spirit level and a mirror.

#280506 - 04/30/16 12:49 PM Re: Found an interesting new thing to learn... [Re: M_a_x]
Russ Offline
Geezer

Cardboard sextants are a neat idea for an educational purpose, but you could never use one for real, I seriously doubt it can get wet and continue working.