Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#280016 - 03/18/16 02:14 PM Re: Preparedness on disability [Re: bacpacjac]
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal
"As an example: the top four likely events that my family prepares for are house fire, local industrial emergency, local weather emergency, and job loss."

Well stated, and that is true for most of us here. You mentioned earthquake potential, and as a SoCal resident, I share that concern. A lot of survival strategies involve measures that are common to camping and hiking - cooking over an open flame, treating water to render it potable, navigating through terrain, etc. A background in those activities is helpful, but even more important is the ability to adapt to novel situations, improvise, and generally to think outside the box.

#280046 - 03/21/16 05:43 PM Re: Preparedness on disability [Re: Ed_Stafford]
bacpacjac Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Ontario, Canada
Just a thought, since we've discussed dehydrated vs canned foods/MREs in this thread:

Quote:
"Do you think getting cooking water will be an issue? If yes, then it might be worth the weight/price of having some ready-to-eat food." (Someone on some other website, talking about something completely different.)

We have old infrastructure in my neighbourhood, and our water main gets shut off at least twice a year for repairs. We haven't lost water yet due to an emergency, but it is something that we prepare for at our house. If we lived in an earthquake zone, I imagine that it would be a higher priority for us.

We store water at home, and at the moment our pantry consists mostly of canned goods, rather than dehydrated. I am very aware of this when I'm backpacking, but I have to keep water consumption in mind as we do more dehydrating for home, and also consider it when rationing our home stores in a possible emergency.

You can find me on YouTube here:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCT9fpZEy5XSWkYy7sgz-mSA