Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#271475 - 08/28/14 05:43 PM Fire Pistons
Deathwind Offline
Enthusiast

I have no experience with these devices and personally I see them as gadgets. But I want to be open minded and I'm sure a lot of you have experience with them,and opinions on thier usefulness as opposed to matches and other methods such as fire steels etc?
The reason I got interested in this is I see they now have a piston which fits in an Altoids tin.

#271479 - 08/29/14 05:24 AM Re: Fire Pistons [Re: Deathwind]
Phaedrus Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Big Sky Country
I tend to view it like you do, but if I was going to try one I'd be tempted to try this Numyth Vulcan v2 piston. However I don't recall ever seeing a fire piston small enough for an Aloids tin.

#271481 - 08/29/14 01:47 PM Re: Fire Pistons [Re: Deathwind]
JerryFountain Offline
Addict

Loc: St. Petersburg, Florida
I use fire pistons in Physics classes to give students an idea of the power of compression. To get a fire out of it you have to have a completely dry char cloth or similar tinder, good technique, etc. They are much harder to use than any of the more modern techniques. I would even consider it below a bow drill and similar primitive fire starting methods because you have to carry something to do it with. Those techniques can be improvised in the field. The space is much better spent on a mini Bic or matches. Even a ferro rod is much better. For an Altoids tin type kit, I use the metal Spark-Lite.

Respectfully,

Jerry

#271482 - 08/29/14 03:05 PM Re: Fire Pistons [Re: Phaedrus]
Deathwind Offline
Enthusiast

Thanks Phaedrus. I saw it on Ebay. It was in an altoids tin and looks to be all metal.

#271483 - 08/29/14 03:12 PM Re: Fire Pistons [Re: JerryFountain]
Deathwind Offline
Enthusiast