Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#269611 - 05/01/14 06:20 PM Re: Father, 2 young kids missing in SC national park [Re: Russ]
bacpacjac Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: Russ
Sorry, taking small kids in the backcountry without a plan borders on child endangerment; I have no sympathy.

I couldn't agree more!

You can find me on YouTube here:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCT9fpZEy5XSWkYy7sgz-mSA

#269612 - 05/01/14 06:43 PM Re: Father, 2 young kids missing in SC national park [Re: Russ]
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal
-- back to map & compass and the sun, moon & stars. That will not be a good day. [/i]

It won't be a fabulous day, but folks will still be able to find their way home, if they are not hopelessly dependent upon electronics and are schooled in the fundamentals.

I have been using GPS since 1991 and it was truly a great leap forward, but I am glad I was grounded in traditional techniques. I began using a USGS quad map produced in the late 1930's by a team using pack mules, plane table, and alidade - real John Wesley Powell stuff. They showed the trail network very accurately, but the topography was a bit sketchy. I nominate aerial photography as the most important advance in mapping and navigation in the last century.

A GPS will show your location, and it may show your destination, but it won't necessarily show the obstacles and traps that lie between. For that, you need an accurate,detailed map, either paper or electronic.

Edited by hikermor (05/01/14 06:44 PM)

#269614 - 05/01/14 07:57 PM Re: Father, 2 young kids missing in SC national park [Re: ]
Russ Offline
Geezer

Loc: SOCAL