Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#264655 - 10/28/13 04:11 PM Planning for a community?
TeacherRO Offline
Carpal Tunnel

What special considerations are there in planning for a community of about 100 people in earthquake country?

#264656 - 10/28/13 04:29 PM Re: Planning for a community? [Re: TeacherRO]
JPickett Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Missouri
Move to non-earthquake country?

#264657 - 10/28/13 04:36 PM Re: Planning for a community? [Re: JPickett]
haertig Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Colorado
Or at least pick an earthquake country that is well equipped to deal with them and has reasonably strong building codes. I would pick San Francisco over Pakistan, for instance.

#264658 - 10/28/13 04:42 PM Re: Planning for a community? [Re: haertig]
haertig Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Colorado
OK, jokes aside, I have no experience with earthquakes. But I wouldn't think the preps for them would be a whole lot different than for other disasters. The things that do come to mind are: (1) There may be major disruption to roads and other transportation arteries. (2) Infrastructure (fresh water, sewage, electricity, etc.) may be severley affected for a significant length of time. (3) You have to deal with potential long-term instability of structures around you - even once the initial earthquake has passed, you are still in danger of things collapsing around you.

How you prep for this, I don't know. But the first step would be to become aware of what you might have to deal with.

#264659 - 10/28/13 04:57 PM Re: Planning for a community? [Re: TeacherRO]
LesSnyder Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: New Port Richey, Fla