Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 2 of 14 < 1 2 3 4 ... 13 14 >
Topic Options
#261761 - 07/11/13 03:35 AM Re: Build a Wilderness First Aid Kit [Re: nursemike]
haertig Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Colorado
If something from the kit is to go, to make room for something else, I would vote to nuke the burn creme packets. You don't want to put that stuff on a second or third degree burn, although I guess it would be OK for a first degree one. But all-in-all, burn creme is pretty useless at best. A dry sterile dressing is what you want over a burn.

For attaching dressings: First there was tape. Then "roller gauze". Then "Kling" wrap. Then "Kerlix". Now there is "Coban" (a.k.a. "coflex"). I don't know if anything came between Kerlix and Coban. We were still using Kerlix when I was a paramedic. Now we're using Coban. But I've been out of the medical field since the Kerlix days. Kerlix definitely was better than either Kling or roller gauze, but it was also much bulkier, so didn't fit into FA kits as nicely. None of these substitute for an Ace Wrap (a.k.a. "elastic bandage").

#261762 - 07/11/13 11:59 AM Re: Build a Wilderness First Aid Kit [Re: Jeanette_Isabelle]
chaosmagnet Offline
Sheriff
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: USA
Very nice work! If you have room and budget, I'd suggest more gloves.

#261763 - 07/11/13 12:07 PM Re: Build a Wilderness First Aid Kit [Re: haertig]
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal