The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#261143 - 06/05/13 11:50 PM BG Ultimate Survival Knife (fine blade) Quick Look
bacpacjac Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Ontario, Canada
The BG Ultimate Survival Knife (fine blade) is something I want to hate. It was a gift from my kids for Mother''s Day this year so I love it for that reason alone, but there’s a moment of shame when I bring it out around other people. That said, I like it more and more every time I use it. For the past couple of weeks, we've battoned campfire wood with it, and used it to make wood shavings and feather sticks. I preferred using my CRKT folder for making whittling, but it rocked the battoning, pitch and fatwood hunting, and I like the fire steel.

It wasn't sharp enough out of the box for my liking, and I haven't sharpened it yet, but it's done everything I asked of it so far. I am a total noob to knife sharpening so I'm not going to use the one built into the sheath on anything other than old beat up don't care about 'em knives for now.

It's a bigger and heavier knife than I've ever carried. This past weekend wasn't a "need a fixed blade on your belt" kind of camp, but after spending the weekend with it, I'm not sure it's ever going to fill that role for me. I hiked with it on my belt for an hour or so on Sunday morning, and I much preferred tucking into my belt at the small of my back, or better yet, leaving it in the pack except when we were us it.

I wish the ferro rod was a little longer but it works just fine if you pull the ferro rod across the knife instead of vice versa.

[img]http://i1105.photobucket.com/albums...f9e9b.jpg[/img]