Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#247800 - 07/01/12 05:47 AM Re: If The Forum Loses Credibility? [Re: Stephen]
Chisel Offline
Veteran

First I want to apologize for using the censored word. Although I don't use them often, but I wander between forums with varying rules and in the heat of the moment such a censored word may slip into a post. Sorry about that.

Quote:
I suppose it's because I am new to the whole forum thing, but I hadn't realised there were rival forums. That's kinda interesting. Was the good forum the one the made you post your real name or was it the other one?

Stephen, in addition to the case in my corner of the owrld, I have seen it happen two times, one in the US and one either in the US or the UK. A big issue divides the forum members, and that results in one group leaving and establishing their own forum. They do become rival forums and without roles and moderators , some posts discussing the other forum ( or its founder ) may cross ethical borders.

Answering your question, yes, The good forum was the one asking for real names, but that was not THE reason it was good . LOL . The reason is that it insisted on staying above certain standards. Posting with real names was one of the ways to limit people from wandering too far on some touchy issues. Since I was in the "wiser" camp, I had no problem with that. The "other" camp didn't like it and went to the other forum.

Sadly, that situation proved that wiser people
are too few and far in between. The wiser forum shrank down until their was only a handful of members left. And it died a slow death. Then it closed.

#247803 - 07/01/12 06:26 AM Re: If The Forum Loses Credibility? [Re: Chisel]
Stephen Offline

Loc: Canada
You know,