Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#241061 - 02/14/12 01:00 AM Friends...I'm new to the survival game.
ruReady Offline
Stranger

Loc: Iowa
I am looking for some tips and info pertaining to surviving the worst. BOB's, web sites, magazines and books, as well as your personal advice. Figured I'd go to the source...you guys. Any help is appreciated.

#241062 - 02/14/12 01:25 AM Re: Friends...I'm new to the survival game. [Re: ruReady]
Byrd_Huntr Offline
Old Hand

Loc: MN, Land O' Lakes & Rivers ...
Welcome, you came to the right place.

One thing you could do to get started is click on the 'active topics' link at the top of this page. You will find 38 pages of things we are actively discussing right now.

You can also use the the 'search' function, and whatever you put in there we've probably argued, agreed, disagreed, photographed, and quoted already.

Have fun...

#241063 - 02/14/12 01:38 AM Re: Friends...I'm new to the survival game. [Re: ruReady]
leemann Offline
Soylent Green
Addict

Loc: At the soylent green plant.
The campfire is open to all have a seat and stay a while. Welcome to the forums.

Lee
http://datacore.sciflicks.com/soylent_green/sounds/soylent_green_people.wav
RIP OBG

#241064 - 02/14/12 01:44 AM Re: Friends...I'm new to the survival game. [Re: ruReady]
chaosmagnet Offline
Sheriff
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: USA
Welcome aboard!

1) Determine the threats that you want to prepare for. For example, at home I plan for short (three days or less) to medium term (between three days and three weeks) loss of utilities. In the car, I plan for being stranded (perhaps in a snow drift) for three days. On the commuter rail I plan for an unexpected overnight if the train breaks down or there's some other kind of transportation disruption. In addition to the gear I carry on the commuter rail, I also have some extra food and clothes stashed at the office if I get stuck there.