Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#236496 - 11/29/11 09:37 PM Re: Protecting your home from electrical "surges" [Re: chaosmagnet]
ILBob Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Northern IL
Originally Posted By: chaosmagnet
Originally Posted By: ILBob
To be quite candid, the supposed guarantees of the companies providing these products are of dubious value. How would one ever prove that your device failed because of a surge the surge protector did not prevent? In fact, how would one prove a "surge" killed the device in the first place?

Tripp Lite and APC have both paid out on these guarantees that I know of. I have no data (anecdotal or otherwise) for others. I imagine that a competent electrical engineer can tell whether a power surge fried something.

I am a competent engineer and there is no way I could tell whether a product just gave up the ghost or was killed by a surge, short of some catastrophic failure. The typical failures of electrical and electronic equipment just do not lend themselves to any easy determination of what caused the failure.

Bob

#236508 - 11/29/11 10:34 PM Re: Protecting your home from electrical "surges" [Re: dweste]
Eugene Offline
Carpal Tunnel

I worked at a computer store in college, and we got several that were hit by surges usually during storms. Typically the power supply would be dead (MOV inside would blow), or the modem no dial tone as people would plug their power into a surge protector but plug the modem straight into the wall and it would take a hit, usually that's due to electrical storms.
During bad electrical storms it wasn't unusual to see burned components, sometimes blown right off the board (modem).