Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#22955 - 01/04/04 11:54 PM Survival and Modern Life?
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hello All,

I've been thinking a lot about survival lately. Maybe because of all that has happened in the last few years, 9/11, along with the war, threat of terrorism, etc... Then the positive things, my family, just celebrated my 1 year anniversary, we are talking about children, my career, buying some land, building a house, all that great stuff. However when I speak of or think of survival, I am a total novice. My father was not much of a hunter, so I never really learned good hunting skills (though I am adept in weapons, maintenance of them, caching, etc..). I have been a city boy most of my life with occasional trips out into the wild (so too speak?). But if today there was a catastrophe (either man made or natural) I am not sure if my family would be able to survive, as a matter of fact I believe not without some assistance of some kind. This weighs heavy on my mind as I feel each one of us should be self sufficient in some way or another. So I decided that my New Years Resolution was going to be learning all that I can about survival, living in the woods, etc... So here are my prileminary thoughts, and please any ideas, thoughts, suggestions would be greatly appreciated, hence why I am posting here.

1. Books. Being an avid reader that would be my first choice. However in this field I am not sure how much practical knowledge can be assimilated from just reading?
2. Survival Courses/Field Craft. Those offered by say "Tom Brown" and others. Are these worth the money and time?
3. After this I am not sure where to go. Any advice would be very welcome.