The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#223405 - 05/11/11 09:04 PM Need rechargable AA battery recomendation
CJK Offline
Addict

Loc: FL, USA
I recently bought a replacement digital camera. Takes AA batteries (majority of our stuff takes AA). I have had previous rechargables (NiCad, NiMH) and even that old charger that would recharge alkaline....Ok so I'm dating myself....

There are now a variety of rechargables. Can anyone suggest a GOOD one to go with. The camera is used a lot in Ice Rinks so cold may be an issue but only for an hour or 2 max. Majority of time it is warm/hot weather. I'd like a decent run time on the battery. I'm planning on having one set in camera with 1 for back up. I would buy more later if the set is good. I'd rather spend good money now to save later, though I don't want to get too expensive.

Any thoughts? Suggestions? Things to avoid completely. Please do not give massive technical data....I'm not an engineer. Good 'field use experience' is more valuable to me. If the 'system' for charging also has multiple ways to 'charge' (ie. 110v, 12v, solar, iGo, USB) even better but 110 v is primary.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

#223408 - 05/11/11 10:04 PM Re: Need rechargable AA battery recomendation [Re: CJK]
speedemon Offline
Journeyman

Sanyo Eneloops for the batteries. Seems to be a pretty broad consensus that they are one of the better batteries out there. They are one of the low self discharge NiMH batteries, that won't go dead from sitting in the drawer (well, they will, just not in a month or two, it will take a couple years).

One of the Powerex/Maha chargers would be my choice, though there are probably as good as or better chargers. Couple years ago I had found a pretty comprehensive review of chargers available (how full they were able to charge, how long, how hot they got, explained the charging methods, etc), but I can't for the life of me find it again