The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#202143 - 05/20/10 03:51 AM Call of the wild
Byrd_Huntr Offline
Old Hand

Loc: MN, Land O' Lakes & Rivers ...
It was Tuesday, the last day of my spring mini-vacation, and I had it bad. You know, the urge to roam the forest. Yes, there was yard work to do, but I pretended there wasn't. Very early in the day, the girls were gone and the dog was asleep when I went for the topo map. I needed a new challenge...being a long time camper, hiker, and byrd huntr, I have walked countless trails in my home state in the pursuit of those activities and also for no reason. I studied every line on the topo map, nothing, under water, been there, too close, too far. Finally, a dotted red line emerged, winding through the middle of the Chengwatana State Forest. I could get there in 90 minutes!Hundreds of square miles of mostly overlooked near-wilderness along the east central border. I had never hiked that particular trail, so I grabbed my gear, left a note and map coordinates for DW and headed out. I know the area, so I opted for my full rucksack instead of my standard PSK. Exactly 10 pounds of everything I would need to survive in the boreal forest. It was 80+ degrees, a little hot for a northern boy, but the sun felt good and the sky was the color of topaz gems with whispy mares tails as the silvery setting. In my pockets and belt, I had my Leatherman Wave, a mini Bic, a brass compass, my walnut walking stick, and a 9" Remington belt knife. I carefully studied the topo map and got my bearings and walked for miles along the forest tote road, at one point seeing a bald eagles nest. A little farther down the trail, I saw a majestic swan floating in a reflective pool. It didn't seem real. I came upon a large pool of water that spanned the trail, not at all unusual for a boreal forest trail. I looked to see what other creaturss had passed this way by the tracks in the mud. I have to admit that even after