The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#199541 - 04/03/10 12:07 AM Alcohol Stove
Outdoor_Quest Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Central Oregon
I'd like to get some feedback on alcohol stoves. They seem like a good idea to have in a hunter's day pack. I have no experience with them.

So, could you give me your thoughts and if possible where to buy one or how to make one.

Thanks in advance for your comments.

Blake
www.outdoorquest.biz

#199543 - 04/03/10 01:25 AM Re: Alcohol Stove [Re: Outdoor_Quest]
TeacherRO Offline
Carpal Tunnel

a good primer zen stoves ZEN

more stoves stove info and construction

wiki Alcohol stoves on wikipedia

#199545 - 04/03/10 01:49 AM Re: Alcohol Stove [Re: Outdoor_Quest]
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal
I carried a Trangia (available from REI and others) for years in my SAR pack. Its virtues are utter simplicity and reliability, reasonably light weight, sturdy, and its ability to carry its own fuel supply.

The zen page is a good resource giving you the skinny on the amazing variety of alcohol stoves that can easily be fabricated or purchased today.

#199553 - 04/03/10 04:42 AM Re: Alcohol Stove [Re: hikermor]
comms Offline
Veteran

Loc: Mesa, AZ
I use a WhiteBox Alcohol Stove and it rocks. I did modify it by wrapping some kevlar cordage around it which will start the stove in about 1/2 the time. Denatured alcohol is super cheap and I carry it in a used water bottle with hash marks on it per ounce. So the fuel bottle collapses as it gets used up.

#199554 - 04/03/10 05:48 AM Re: Alcohol Stove [Re: Outdoor_Quest]
scafool Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Muskoka
Another resource worth looking at.
http://www.bplite.com/index.php
Also see Tinny's stuff at Minibulldesign
http://www.minibulldesign.com/

Now some personal observations.
Alcohol is good for light heating/cooking in reasonable weather.
You start to get problems when it is cold and windy.
You certainly need a windscreen.