Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#192312 - 12/31/09 11:43 PM Re: Thoughts on Compact Rifle for Hunting/Survival? [Re: Pete]
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal
There are such things as low recoil loads in 12 gauge, including slugs. I have no first hand experience with them, however. Hard to beat the 12 G for versatility.

#192323 - 01/01/10 03:53 AM Re: Thoughts on Compact Rifle for Hunting/Survival [Re: Pete]
duckear Offline
Addict

Since lever action 30-30s are rather light, I doubt the recoil will much different than a 308.

Sounds like the women need some trigger time. The 308 recoil can be tolerated by most.

Also, think about an AR-15.

#192327 - 01/01/10 05:08 AM Re: Thoughts on Compact Rifle for Hunting/Survival [Re: duckear]
jshannon Offline
Addict

Loc: North Texas

#192328 - 01/01/10 06:30 AM Re: Thoughts on Compact Rifle for Hunting/Survival [Re: jshannon]
Paul810 Offline
Veteran

Loc: NJ, USA
If I could only have one firearm, it would be a shotgun; probably a 12 gauge pump. Small game, big game, birds in flight....as long as it's within a stones throw distance you will most likely be able to drop it with the correct load from a shotgun. Plus, shotguns are reasonably priced, shotgun ammunition is readily available in many varieties, it's plentiful, and it's comparatively easy to reload.

My second firearm, an AR15 style rifle along with a Spikes Tactical .22lr conversion kit (bolt assembly and magazines). .223 is very easy to shoot, small enough that you can carry a ton, accurate at longer distances than a shotgun, and packs enough punch to take care of just about anything in North America with well placed shots. With the conversion kit one can quickly adapt the rifle to shoot most .22lr ammo with reasonable accuracy for use against small game, or if you just don't need the full power of .223/5.56.