Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 4 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#176684 - 07/17/09 11:37 AM Re: Getting home; drive, ride, walk... [Re: Blast]
LoneWolf Offline

OK,

If I get a chance I'll look around some more. I'm thinking it was in here however because the only other forum of this type that I frequent is the Zombie Squad and I found them LONG after I found Equipped To Survive.

I did a search on Raspy's name yesterday but didn't find anything that struck a chord. Oh well ....

On another note entirely ..... I'm now a newbie and no longer a stranger !! Whooo Hoooo !!!

Thanks,
LW

#176685 - 07/17/09 12:15 PM Re: Getting home; drive, ride, walk... [Re: Blast]
Jesselp Offline
What's Next?
Enthusiast

Loc: New York
Quote:
Martin, you've mentioned many times that New York City officals are well prepared for a disaster, but what about the average person there? Have people learned from 9/11 and the blackouts that they should keep an emergency kit on hand?

-Blast

Blast,

That's an interesting question, but I'm afraid we'll all be dissapointed with the answer. In truth, I don't think that the average person is more prepared.

I've had to evacuate from three office buildings in Manhattan over the past eight years (9/11/01, 2003 blackout, 2007(?) steam pipe explosion) and I make sure that I always have, at minimum, a flashlight, comfortable shoes, and a water bottle ready to go (usually I have more than just this). However, when I pull out my light to help find something, most people are incredulous, and would never have thought to carry such a thing on a daily basis. I might get one or two knowing glances out of a group, but that's it.