Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 2 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
#184895 - 10/11/09 07:46 AM Re: How to Choose a Backpacking/Survival Stove [Re: UpstateTom]
Tom_L Offline
Addict

I've made three different beer can alcohol stoves so far. The penny stove is the best design by a good margin. I also made one which is basically a smaller version of the Trangia stove. Both are small, extremely light and at least as effective as a Coleman gas stove in terms of how long it takes to boil a pint of water. There are only two disadvantages, namely slightly less convenient operation and relative fragility. I ruined my first mini stove when I stepped on it accidentally at my campsite one day.

I have no actual hands-on experience with a Trangia stove yet but they seem well made and stirdy. If they work anywhere near as well as my improvised alcohol stoves I would pick one over a Coleman any day.

#184900 - 10/11/09 01:30 PM Re: How to Choose a Backpacking/Survival Stove [Re: dweste]
Am_Fear_Liath_Mor Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Quote:
The only "stove" I currently lust for is a Thermette.

The only stove I currently lust for is the Primus Omnifuel Titanium wink

http://www.moontrail.com/primus-omnifuel-titanium.php

#184901 - 10/11/09 02:07 PM Re: How to Choose a Backpacking/Survival Stove [Re: Am_Fear_Liath_Mor]
CANOEDOGS Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: MINNESOTA

as you can see from this photo i'm a stove enthusiast..

at home and on camping trips i've tried out just about ever sort of stove that will burn something.

kerosene..which is nasty and greasy but burns hot and go's a long way..

too alcohol which burns sweet,is easy to get and use but does not burn as hot as..

white gas or Coleman fuel which is great in cold weather,lots of stoves are made that burn it and gallon cans are easy to find.