Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#182109 - 09/13/09 11:34 PM Long/Lat or UTM ??
mtnhiker Offline
Journeyman

Loc: Nevada,USA
Hey folks, I briefly looked for a thread on this but didnt see one.
I was wondering what the general feeling was on using either long/lat or UTM for back country navigation.

#182111 - 09/13/09 11:55 PM Re: Long/Lat or UTM ?? [Re: mtnhiker]
SARbound Offline
Addict

Loc: Quebec City, Canada
I am in charge of a search and rescue team, and we exclusively use UTM.

Since it's metric, you can estimate distances and stuff by simple arithmetics. 5210780 is 200 meters away from 512980. It's as simple as that.

UTM all the way!

#182112 - 09/13/09 11:58 PM Re: Long/Lat or UTM ?? [Re: mtnhiker]
samhain Offline
Addict

Loc: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
I'm a novice geocacher and I like UTM for the same reason as SARbound.

#182114 - 09/13/09 11:59 PM Re: Long/Lat or UTM ?? [Re: mtnhiker]
yelp Offline

Loc: Colorado
Depends on what you want to do with it;'navigation' covers a lot of ground). GPS work? Pencil and paper with a map scale?

I make maps (on a topo base) so when I'm out mapping, ground truthing, whatever, using a scale that's base 10 is much more convenient - especially if it's raining, windy, really buggy, or you're otherwise distracted. I've always used UTMs.

This also holds true for coordinate transforms, like if you're using legacy data that's based off a different datum. Software tends to be more agreeable using UTMs...or at least it's easier for me to see where I screwed up.

I understand that most state agencies (Alaska's one; I don't know about others) use decimal degrees, so if you want to plot a mine shaft or, more importantly, call for an evacuation, having decimal degrees expedites the process. SAR and LEOs please chip in with your experiences! This would be a very good thing to know.