Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 5 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
#180648 - 08/28/09 03:37 AM Re: Film-Maker Airlifted Dying of Starvation [Re: Todd W]
PureSurvival Offline

Loc: UK
This program has just been advertised on UK TV to start soon, i am sure it will be show there too

#180655 - 08/28/09 05:24 AM Re: Film-Maker Airlifted Dying of Starvation [Re: Susan]
scafool Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Muskoka
Originally Posted By: Susan
"I got respect for anyone who can go into the wild alone even if they're not properly equipped."

I don't.

Would this guy have done all this, even for just cash money, if he knew there were no fly-overs, no one picking up his videos, no Twitter, no one watching for him?

Try this: "I'm a college student and I'm going into the White Mountains of NH. I'm dressed in shorts, tank top and flip-flops, and I don't think I'll need more than that, even though it is late fall, as it's nice and sunny today. I'm carrying a 16-oz bottle of water and a granola bar. My cell phone doesn't get a signal here, but I'll take it with me in case it works farther up the mountains. I also have a PLB, so even if I do get into trouble, someone will come and get me."

Just because this fool had someone else paying the bill and backing him up didn't make him any smarter than thousands of other dorks who depend on SAR to get them out of trouble.

That is a good point Susan, even if I disagree with your idea of how prepared he was.
The fact that he failed might just be what I like about this show.
There are a ton of shows that give the idea that it is real easy to go native and just live off the land.
Here you have a guy who is just a bit better than your average Joe and really well equipped.

He had experience as a cameraman on other expeditions which gave him a bit more experience than many of us would have.

He had all the gear a woodsman could wish for.