The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#172475 - 04/30/09 12:54 PM N95 masks
Russ Offline
Geezer

Loc: SOCAL
As regards N95 masks and influenza, a number of folks in the Flu Thread have indicated they don't work or don't give a good seal -- whatever. I've seen a number of news photos of folks wearing their masks with their nostrils exposed. What's the point of wearing a mask if you leave your breathing holes on the outside? Maybe they don't breathe through their noses.

The isolation masks we have here (99% EFF at .1 Microns) can be shaped around the bridge of your nose and they provide a good fit.

#172483 - 04/30/09 01:59 PM Re: N95 masks [Re: ]
Wheels Offline
Journeyman

Loc: Central Virginia
I'm no expert on this but, as I understand it, any sort of regular dust mask is really only effective to the extent that it prevents the wearer from touching their own mouth and nose. A mask plus glasses or goggles would be the complete package to keep you from picking up the virus and infecting yourself with it.

#172485 - 04/30/09 02:17 PM Re: N95 masks [Re: Wheels]
Russ Offline
Geezer

That could be true, virus' are pretty small critters and can get through some fairly small gaps when motivated. That said, when I wore these masks during the last wildfire here (SOCAL) it cleaned up the air a lot. As I understand the H1N1 virus is dependent on droplets and isn't "in the air". The mask will stop you from inhaling those droplets. . . maybe, I think, not sure but it won't hurt.

#172491 - 04/30/09 02:56 PM Re: N95 masks [Re: ]
Arney Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: California
Originally Posted By: IzzyJG99
...too sciency...

"Sciency"? There you go again, Izzy, using all those big words again! wink

But seriously, we're all here to share and learn, so don't sweat it. I appreciate your many contributions.

#172506 - 04/30/09 06:37 PM Re: N95 masks [Re: ]
Greg_Sackett Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: KC, MO