comms Offline
Veteran

Loc: Mesa, AZ
Sounds like the MayDay bars.

#168552 - 03/03/09 07:58 PM Re: emergency food bars [Re: comms]
PSM Offline
Journeyman

Loc: Cochise Co., AZ
I've been making my own for several years using the following recipe I found on the web:

Quote:
Emergency Ration Recipe

By: various survival sites

* 3 cups rolled oats, barley, or wheat
* 2 1/2 cups nonfat milk powder
* 1/2 package Jell-O powder, citrus
* 1 cup sugar
* 2 tablespoon honey
* 3 tablespoon water

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Heat together water and honey, stir in Jell-O powder. Stir dry ingredients together, stir in Jell-O water, mix well. Then add additional water 1 tablespoon at a time, just until mixture can be formed into two bars. Dry in oven, wrap in foil to store. Each bar is 1000 calories. May be eaten as is, or cooked in a pint of water.

I divide them into 9 smaller bars, Press'n Seal them, and toss them in the freezer.

I left one out of the freezer to see what the shelf life was and it went about 18 months before developing any mold.

I prefer the lemon flavor but lime and orange are good too. I've been meaning to try vanilla so I should do it while I'm thinking about it.

#168564 - 03/03/09 11:41 PM Re: emergency food bars [Re: PSM]
Mike_H Offline
Addict

Loc: SE PA
Originally Posted By: PSM
I've been making my own for several years using the following recipe I found on the web:

I left one out of the freezer to see what the shelf life was and it went about 18 months before developing any mold.

I prefer the lemon flavor but lime and orange are good too. I've been meaning to try vanilla so I should do it while I'm thinking about it.

Hmmm... seems interesting...

#168598 - 03/04/09 01:17 PM Re: emergency food bars [Re: ]
DaveT Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: NE Ohio
PSM - I'm going to try that recipe. Do you have an estimated time to dry out the bars at 300 degrees? Half an hour? Three hours?

Thanks

Dave

#168681 - 03/04/09 09:33 PM Re: emergency food bars [Re: DaveT]