Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 6 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
#165787 - 01/31/09 12:07 AM Re: Carrying 4 pounds of shelter and warmth [Re: scafool]
2005RedTJ Offline
Addict

Loc: Birmingham, Alabama
I differentiate between the 2 quite easily. For me, camping means throwing the cargo rack on my Jeep and loading it down. I've not yet got into backpacking, so I have no experience in that style of camping.

My camping experiences always involve a big tent, EZ-Up canopy, 2 sleeping bags, a propane heater with 20-pound tank, a queen-sized air mattress, full-size pillows and everything else I can think of to make my weekend comfortable. Then again, my campsite is roughly 10 feet from my Jeep, so I don't have to hump all that stuff on my back.

That said, I have been getting tired of carrying so much stuff and am leaning towards paring down what I carry. But, I want to start off with little steps and not just jump off the deep end. I'm waiting for summer to try my hand at camping sans tent, just using an ultralight tarp.

Edited by 2005RedTJ (01/31/09 12:08 AM)

#165819 - 01/31/09 04:56 AM Re: Carrying 4 pounds of shelter and warmth [Re: scafool]
duckear Offline
Addict

Originally Posted By: scafool
Again we come to the point Canoedogs made in the 4th comment back.
At which point does it quit being an emergency kit and become a camping kit?

Exactly.

Are people starting to carry a spare sleeping bag????

Being prepared for EVERY possible contingency can get to be a bit ridiculous.