The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4
Topic Options
#165809 - 01/31/09 04:16 AM Re: Tricks to make maps easier? [Re: OldBaldGuy]
Susan Offline
Geezer

Loc: W. WA
That's the pen. It's available at practically every fabric store in America. I don't know if only one company makes them or not, but they're all purple. There used to be a light blue one, but I haven't seen that in years.

I've been using them for this purpose for close to 20 years, repeatedly on regular maps, with absolutely NO problem. I've never seen the ink color return. I don't see where they would be a problem on other paper, either, but I don't think I've used them on other types.

They are intended for fabric, and work well on that, too, although I think I've only used them on cotton and cotton blends.

Sue

#165825 - 01/31/09 05:43 AM Re: Tricks to make maps easier? [Re: Susan]
haertig Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Colorado
Originally Posted By: Susan
So I bought a purple pen from a fabric shop to mark where I'm going.

Now THAT is the "cool idea of the month"! I'm gonna have to get me one of those disappearing ink pens for sure.

#165886 - 01/31/09 10:58 PM Re: Tricks to make maps easier? [Re: haertig]
comms Offline
Veteran

Loc: Mesa, AZ
I waterproof all my maps. Either with a liquid application or contact paper. I do like Adventure paper. I will have to try MyTopo. Never used that.

Not only do I use the standard maps, if I am going to be in a National Park area, I research other trail guides for maps and route specifics, copy them and carry with me.

If I know where I am going to be hiking I put a 'handrail' on the map so if I get lost I can head in a cardinal direction to a safe place or logical S&R area that runs the length of my trip like a road,main trail, train track or river.

I also leave a copy of my map with someone so they know my route.

I love using alcohol based map pens and mark up my maps before and during my trips.