Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 2 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
#164679 - 01/23/09 05:29 PM Re: Stay and defend your home from a wildfire? [Re: scafool]
Stu Offline
I am not a P.P.o.W.
Old Hand

Loc: Finger Lakes of NY State
As a former firefighter, I'd leave. If I'd stayed and lost water pressure, it would be usually too late to leave. my properties are well insured and can be rebuilt, my life can't.

#164684 - 01/23/09 06:05 PM Re: Stay and defend your home from a wildfire? [Re: Stu]
KG2V Offline

Veteran

Loc: Queens, New York City
I've always wondered - if I lived in a wildfire prone area, could you build a true "shelter" - say (off my head) a fully underground concrete (say 6" walls and roof) room detactched from the house. Say the roof is 12" below grade, and you have steps down, door, corridor, door, room.

I would think with a facility like that (and saw water haze in the corridor), you could stay and defend pretty much till the end, and worst comes to worst, it burns over the top
Blog: http://kg2v.blogspot.com

#164696 - 01/23/09 06:58 PM Re: Stay and defend your home from a wildfire? [Re: KG2V]
el_diabl0 Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: NE Ohio
Just buy fire insurance and evacuate. No way I'm sticking around for that.

Isn't there some kind of foam that can be sprayed on that does a decent job of protecting the house? Spray it on and get the heck out!

#164697 - 01/23/09 07:00 PM Re: Stay and defend your home from a wildfire? [Re: KG2V]
scafool Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Muskoka
Originally Posted By: KG2V_was_kc2ixe
I've always wondered - if I lived in a wildfire prone area, could you build a true "shelter"...

I would think with a facility like that (and saw water haze in the corridor), you could stay and defend pretty much till the end, and worst comes to worst, it burns over the top

OK, I am going sideways a bit here, but not much.