Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#157908 - 12/10/08 07:47 PM Re: Survival in the Arctic - 18 hours on an ice fl [Re: CAP613]
Russ Offline
Geezer

Loc: SOCAL
Water entry can be hard or soft. Crashing into the water is not good, "landing" on the water can be very survivable.

#157909 - 12/10/08 07:55 PM Re: Survival in the Arctic - 18 hours on an ice fl [Re: Russ]
CAP613 Offline
Journeyman

Loc: W. PA
Also remember the main thing that would cause the aircraft to flote that is the fule tank is in the wing which in the Skymaster is on top of the cabin. Not good in a water landing or any situation where you need to flote.

#157912 - 12/10/08 08:02 PM Re: Survival in the Arctic - Additional Info [Re: OldBaldGuy]
Desperado Offline
Veteran

Loc: DFW, Texas
Originally Posted By: OldBaldGuy
When I studied the manual on the US Army U-6 (de Havilland Beaver), it said to jetison the doors prior to a water landing (it also said to jump out prior to the aircraft contacting the water). But not all aircraft have that feature...

I have a mental image of two occupied survival suits skipping across the water like bullets. Does not sound like the lesser of two evils IMO.

Coming from the army, it doesn't surprise me. They had some unusual ideas about more than just that when I was in.

RIP OBG

#157930 - 12/11/08 12:19 AM Re: Survival in the Arctic - Additional Info [Re: Russ]
OldBaldGuy Offline
Geezer

Loc: Former AFB in CA, recouping fr...
"...How high above the water does the Army recommend executing this jump?..."