The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 2 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#150539 - 09/30/08 11:33 PM Re: Best Concealed Handgun [Re: colbyhouse]
SJC Offline
Stranger

Loc: Detroit
I too agree with all the above posts. You have one thing working against you and that is experience. Carrying a Gun is a major responsibility that requires a very mature thought process. You must learn to walk and look away from confrontations. Whether it be on foot or in a car. Be aware of road rage. Not from you, but from others. You will be tempted to want to engage that jerk that cut you off and then flipped you off, but you can't!! No way!!

With that being said, I too am a large frame man. I have been carrying for almost 7 years now. I haved carried everything in every caliber. The first gun that probably everyone told you to get is a Glock of some sort. Great gun, but I wouldn't recommend it for someone of your experience. With the lack of a "True" Safety you might want to stay away from a glock until later. And don't think that you just won't carry the semi auto without a bullet in the chamber, if so, so might as well just carry a big rock. (one in the chamber is called - Condition 1) I would suggest a S&W 638 Bodyguard (.38 Special +p) Skip the Crimson Trace (ctc) laser grip for now also, save your money. There are many great holsters for the J-frame. I carry in a pocket holster most times, but also have many Inside waist belt (IWB) and even an ankle rig. With chukka boots on, you never even know that there is a gun on your leg.

Good luck and be careful

steve

#150542 - 10/01/08 12:19 AM Re: Best Concealed Handgun [Re: SJC]
Stretch Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Alamogordo, NM
H&K USP 2000....in an ankle holster. Just a thought.....

#150546 - 10/01/08 12:56 AM Re: Best Concealed Handgun [Re: colbyhouse]
pforeman Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Iowa
Ok... having been a cop, worked corrections and been a firearms instructor I'll tell you now, do not buy anything.