Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#149073 - 09/16/08 01:52 AM Any Pink Floyd Fans?
BobS Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Toledo Ohio
Rick Wright died today.

Richard William Wright (28 July 1943 - 15 September 2008) was a self-taught pianist and keyboardist best known for his long career with Pink Floyd. Though not as prolific a songwriter as his bandmates Syd Barrett, Roger Waters and David Gilmour, he did write significant parts of the music for classic albums such as Meddle, Dark Side of the Moon and Wish You Were Here, as well as for Pink Floyd's final studio album The Division Bell. Wright’s richly textured keyboard layers have been a vital ingredient and a distinctive characteristic of Pink Floyd's sound. In addition, Wright frequently sang background and occasionally lead vocals onstage and in the studio with Pink Floyd (most notably on the songs "Time," "Echoes," and on the Syd Barrett composition "Astronomy Domine"). Wright died on 15 September 2008, following a short battle with cancer.

You can run, but you'll only die tired.

#149074 - 09/16/08 02:08 AM Re: Any Pink Floyd Fans? [Re: BobS]
Art_in_FL Offline
Pooh-Bah

I was a big fan way back when. Floyd was a real trendsetter and their albums still hold up well. Last I heard "Dark Side of the Moon" was one of the most popular albums ever and it still sells. No music collection is complete without one or two Pink Floyd albums.

Wright is dead but the music of Pink Floyd will live on.

#149076 - 09/16/08 02:37 AM Re: Any Pink Floyd Fans? [Re: Art_in_FL]
CityBoyGoneCountry Offline
Enthusiast

Animals
Wish You Were Here
The Wall
The Division Bell

I actually don't care too much for their other albums.

#149077 - 09/16/08 02:48 AM Re: Any Pink Floyd Fans? [Re: CityBoyGoneCountry]
BobS Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Toledo Ohio
Dark Side of the Moon
Wish You Were Here
A Momentary Lapse of Reason
The Wall
Echoes