The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#137104 - 06/22/08 03:59 AM Kerlix/ fake kerlix question
climberslacker Offline
Youth of the Nation
Addict

Hey, first off, we seriously need to get a first aid section!

Now, I found a source for kerlix type guaze at only 89 cents and was wondering if it is any good, as it is in my kit right now. Is there a reason why it is so much cheaper that I just don't get?

HELP!!!

though i seek perfection, i wear my scars with pride

Have you seen the arrow?

#137105 - 06/22/08 04:06 AM Re: Kerlix/ fake kerlix question [Re: climberslacker]
JohnE Offline
Addict

Loc: Southern Cal
Hi Climberslacker,

New guy here but I think I can answer your question. I'm an EMT and use a fair amount of Kerlix and non-branded gauze wrap. The only difference I've seen is the price. Something that a lot of people forget is that first aid supplies are only meant to be used as a first reponse item, they're not meant to last like a hospital dressing would. Not to mention, that if you use it in a truly emergent situation, when your patient gets to the ER, they're gonna tear all that bandaging right off anyway.

I work as a set medic on film and television sets and buy all of my own supplies, I find a lot of stuff at the .99 cent store works just fine.

Other stuff that I use from there, vet wrap, that's the stuff that works like an elastic bandage that sticks to itself. Elastic bandages, can't beat it for the price. Lip balm, sunscreen, hand lotion, etc. I always check the expiration dates and the contents of any medical stuff, so far I haven't any problems with any of the things I get there.

John E.

"and all the lousy little poets
comin round
tryin' to sound like Charlie Manson"

The Future/Leonard Cohen

#137106 - 06/22/08 04:09 AM Re: Kerlix/ fake kerlix question [Re: JohnE]
climberslacker Offline
Youth of the Nation
Addict