Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 5 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
#133453 - 05/21/08 07:21 PM Re: Troop First Aid Kit (agian... but different) [Re: haertig]
Dan_McI Offline
Old Hand

Loc: NYC
Originally Posted By: haertig
Originally Posted By: Dan_McI
I worked as a lifeguard and was the lifeguard who got to treat the most injuries.
Last summer both my son and daughter were lifeguards. On pool opening day they were both on duty at the same pool. Hordes of little kids came running in and managed to find the broken glass that some morons had managed to hide in the grass. So when the bloody foot patrol came running up, my kids went and got the pools official first aid kit. It contained two bandaids and a roll of gauze. Wonderful. My kids temporarily closed the pool while one of them ran next door to the store and bought supplies. After that us parents went and bought each kid a nicely stocked kit and they took these with them for all subsequent lifeguard shifts. We reported the ridiculousness of the existing first aid kits to the pool management, who did some restocking after that.

I'm not really surprised at all. The City, my long-ago employer, gave us little more than gauze. I took the ammonia I used from the maintenance stores.

#133456 - 05/21/08 07:44 PM Re: Troop First Aid Kit (agian... but different) [Re: Dan_McI]
climberslacker Offline
Youth of the Nation
Addict

Oh, I was talking ocean lifeguard, but I guess for a lot of you there is no ocean

though i seek perfection, i wear my scars with pride

Have you seen the arrow?

#133460 - 05/21/08 08:23 PM Re: Troop First Aid Kit (agian... but different) [Re: climberslacker]
Dan_McI Offline
Old Hand

Loc: NYC
Originally Posted By: climberslacker
Oh, I was talking ocean lifeguard, but I guess for a lot of you there is no ocean