Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#132961 - 05/15/08 08:28 AM Bamboo
Jackal Offline

Loc: cornwall UK
has anyone thought of growing/using bamboo as part of there long term prep planning. i have been stocking up on vegetable seeds and alike for several months and for some reason my mind keeps returning to bamboo. i was thinking of it as a light weight construction material, anyone have experiance using it this way. is it even a valid idea or just some daft thought:)

#132963 - 05/15/08 09:21 AM Re: Bamboo [Re: Jackal]
Johno Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Scotland
I wouldn't call it a daft idea, bamboo can be a royal pain in the arse if you don't look after it. It tends to take over when you turn your back on it. It would all depend on the area you have to grow it in, and the time you will have to grow it before using it. On a plus point its been used for construction since before records began, so its defiantly viable now.

read red mars, its even used by the first colonists.

#132966 - 05/15/08 11:34 AM Re: Bamboo [Re: Johno]
TheSock Offline
Addict

Loc: London England
Ranger Rick has a design for a bamboo walking stick using the hollow compartments for storage.
Ray Mears in one of his programs said the vietnamese would fill one compartment with rice and water and the one below with charcoal so they could cook while marching.
The Sock

#132967 - 05/15/08 11:42 AM Re: Bamboo [Re: Jackal]
MartinFocazio Offline

Pooh-Bah

Loc: Bucks County PA
We have an ever-growing lot of Bamboo on the north side of our property. It was there when we moved in, and it has grown despite being sub-optimal growing conditions.
Contrary to opinions that it's "uncontrollable" I find it to be a wonderfully robust plant that is providing me with greenery and exceedingly handy and free materials for many garden and yard projects. It's strong, it's light, it's attractive.