Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 2 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
#132216 - 05/07/08 05:15 PM Re: Caliber Choices. [Re: MoBOB]
frediver Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: N.Cal.
Taurus has good advice above.
Regarding handguns I would lean to the .357 just because you can also use .38cal.
The .22 is a given, you need one, rifle, pistol or both.
12ga. shotgun, you can't go wrong with a Rem. 870.

#132218 - 05/07/08 05:28 PM Re: Caliber Choices. [Re: MichaelJ]
big_al Offline
Addict

Loc: 20mi east of San Diego
MichaelJ:
Where do you live, do you plan to stay home or bug out? What is your experance with firearms?

#132225 - 05/07/08 06:06 PM Re: Caliber Choices. [Re: big_al]
MichaelJ Offline

Thanks again for all the feedback.
big al, I live in Minneapolis, MN. (a city of 400K). My current plan is to bug in. If there is a lot of warning though, I'd probably relocate to rural MN. I have friends and family in several small towns throughout the state.
I have very little experience with firearms. My father has three pistols (2 9mm autos and 1 .22 revolver). He never uses them and I take them out several times a year. My uncle is an official gun nut, with a huge collection, mostly of rifles. He took me rabbit hunting for the first time this past winter and then gave me the .17 I was using. I've been to the range with him one other time firing a bunch of different .22s/.17s and .22 mags. He also let me burn through a 30 round clip in his Mini-14. I'm going to the range with him again this weekend and plan to try 30-06, 308, 30-30 a 25-06 and a few others to get a feel for them. After that I'm hoping to make my decision so I can learn the gun inside and out over the summer. I always defaulted to the 12 gage for a shotgun, but a guy I know in law enforcement recommends the 20 gage for those that aren't planing to hunt regularly, less kick.

#132227 - 05/07/08 06:27 PM Re: Caliber Choices. [Re: MichaelJ]
MDinana Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Beer&Cheese country