Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#103564 - 08/25/07 10:06 PM Hennessy hammock as lightweight survival shelter
Blitz Offline
Gear Junkie
Addict

Loc: MA
I'm looking to carry one in my BOB (which I always have close). I Like the fact that its lightweight and can go pretty much anywhere. The insulation issue has me concerned though. I have a combat casualty blanket that I would use to keep the wind out, reflect heat etc.

http://www.uscav.com/Productinfo.aspx?productID=7953&TabID=548

Any advice/opinions are appreciated.

Thanks
Blitz

#103573 - 08/26/07 12:57 AM Re: Hennessy hammock as lightweight survival shelter [Re: Blitz]
Erik_B Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Somewhere in my own little wor...
i can't speak for the thermal blanket, but if i were going to shelter in a hammock in temperatures that would require insulation, i would go with a mummy type sleeping bag. bulky yes, fairly lightweight, and seems ideally shaped for a hammock. i own a 30F mummy bag from coleman that i rather like. i've had it for years and it shows no signs of damage, though i haven't exactly abused it either. i haven't tried any other bags, but i'm sure others will give their own recommendations.

Originally Posted By: ironraven
...Shopping appeals to the soul of the hunter-gatherer.

#103574 - 08/26/07 01:14 AM Re: Hennessy hammock as lightweight survival shelter [Re: Erik_B]
Blitz Offline
Gear Junkie
Addict

Loc: MA
I have a Snugpak +5 degree bag in my BOB.

http://www.snugpak.com/30_codegreen/elite4.htm

But "they" say the hammock compresses the sleeping bag insulation and makes it less effective. Not sure if it is a marketing ploy or not, there are a lot of aftermarket assessories people are selling for big $ to insulate the bottom of the hammock.

#103593 - 08/26/07 04:02 AM Re: Hennessy hammock as lightweight survival shelter [Re: Blitz]
Halcon Offline
Journeyman

as an avid hammocker and owner of a hennesey and other hammocks, I can respond.