Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#10292 - 10/29/02 05:01 AM Headlamps
Anonymous
Unregistered

I've seen a couple of posts on here about headlamps. I was thinking of getting the Petzl Tikka, for general camp use, night fishing, glove compartment spare, etc... Anyone have any experience with these, and opinions on which one to get? Are they bright enough to use on SAR tasks, or just as a backup? Thanks in advance!<br><br>John McIntire

#10293 - 10/29/02 05:40 AM Re: Headlamps
Anonymous
Unregistered

I have used the Tikka for a couple of years, and I like it a lot for general use. For SAR I would go with the Petzl Duo. There is an LED Duo, with which I have no direct experience, but I would think that would be the way to go. I have retrofitted my Duop with a single high intensity LED and it works fine.<br><br>If I were doing SAR right now, my pack would include a DUO, a Tikka, and a Photon II, possibly also a carbide headlamp.<br>

#10294 - 10/29/02 06:57 AM Re: Headlamps
Anonymous
Unregistered

I've had one for a while now and i think they are great for close up work-reading, first aid etc. but are useless for hiking as the beam is very short but they provide a short range blast of bright white light!!! Very intense!

#10295 - 10/29/02 07:09 AM Re: Headlamps
Trusbx Offline
addict

Loc: Ed's Country
How about the humble new coghlan's headlamp - incandescent + 3 LEDs<br>Any experience with this ?<br><br>

#10296 - 10/29/02 10:30 AM Zipka
rodmeister Offline

Loc: ca