The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#100952 - 07/27/07 04:09 PM Re: Survival Trapping [Re: BigCityHillbilly]
Hghvlocity Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Oklahoma
I've got zero experience trapping anything..except maybe Spiders under glass. This next hunting season I am going to experiment with a log leaning on a tree and some wires to try and catch some squirrels. I hear it works pretty well...we will see.

#100959 - 07/27/07 04:49 PM Re: Survival Trapping [Re: NightHiker]
BigCityHillbilly Offline
Journeyman

Originally Posted By: NightHiker
Originally Posted By: BigCityHillbilly

Does anyone have any experience at trapping birds ?

I've used a cage/basket type trap to catch birds before. Although I didn't build a trigger mechanism, I just went with the old reliable method, direct observation and about 50ft of fishing line. A handful of corn scattered around and under the trap worked great, I passed up a couple of Stellar jays and ended up with a young

Have you ever tried to go "fishing" for birds with a baited hook ?

LW.

#100965 - 07/27/07 05:44 PM Actual Trapping Experience [Re: BigCityHillbilly]
wildman800 Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: La-USA
I have never used the commercial scents and although they have their uses, I don't see my ever carrying any in my BoB.

I trapped Nutrea Rats when I was younger, using single and double spring traps. Scent was never a problem in that environment but killing the animal without cutting the skin was a sometimes laughable scene to watch. I usually ended up half wet from trying to hit the water type creature with the flat side of an axe, usually getting a lot of water on me (in the wintertime).

I have trapped birds using the old cardboard box, bait, and string system. If I were in the woods, I would fashion a latticework box of branches, probably use bread or cracker crumbs to get the birds into the trap.