The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#100059 - 07/17/07 08:55 PM lessons learned during an 8 week trip
garrett Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: North Carolina
Sorry for the length, I just can't help myself.

My current job in the Marines is a tester. I just got back from an 8 week weapons test where I worked in the field in literally, every climb and place. Sorry, I can’t really talk about the test or what we tested. We tested in the beach/swamp area of North Carolina, the Mojave Desert and the mountains just north of Yosemite.

This gave me a great opportunity to try out a few things that I have made/bought over the past couple of years. It also drove home lessons I have had to relearn each summer. Some of you are going to be saying things like, "man he's stupid" or "he should know better" and you are correct. I wanted to give a snapshot of how things did and different things I observed/messed up on so you can learn from me!

Background: When I was in the field, I was living out of an SUV. We were in the field for about 50-60% of the time, the rest of the time was transit between sites and maintenance time. I had plenty of water and food and I did not have to go looking for either, although I did keep on the look out for both. My EDC was a Spyderco Native III, a fox 40 whistle and Photon Freedom, lighter, and handkerchief as well as a PSP and Swisstool RS in my pockets. I had a camelback MULE on my back in which I had my larger PSK, FAK, collapsible saw, compass, 55 gal drum liners, sponges, surefire 6P, maglite and extra batteries all around. In my truck, I also carried my Maxpedition Jumbo with a Garmin Rhino 120, Nalgene bottle and cup, smaller PSK, junk food, Blackberry (comes with the job) and cell phone, along with power cables and emergency chargers, sunscreen and bug spray. Oh yeah, when I was in the field, I also had on a helmet and flak jacket most of the time.