My urban kit

Posted by: AROTC

My urban kit - 04/19/13 02:58 AM

So I'm living and going to school in NYC. I live about a ten minute walk from campus and I carry my school supplies in a messenger bag. I also carry a few everyday use and emergency supplies:
Thermos
Clifbars
Washcloth
Sunglasses
First aid kit (trauma bandage, nitrile gloves, bandaids, aspirin, Benadryl)
LED headlamp and extra batteries
Spoon and chopsticks
Reusable shopping bag
Change
Notebook and pens
Swiss Army knife in my pocket

Suggestions?

Be mindful I don't want to break my back carrying it, I'm a student without many funds, but I have a decent inventory of camping supplies.
Posted by: LesSnyder

Re: My urban kit - 04/19/13 03:41 AM

if you don't already EDC...
whistle
bandana
I'd add a small AAA LED keychain light in addition

bag
multi tool or silcock wrench to access water... my Swiss Tool will cut chain link fence
N95 mask
chemical splash goggles/swim goggles
syringe for eye wash or wound irrigation
leather gloves
Posted by: Bingley

Re: My urban kit - 04/19/13 05:07 AM

A Metrocard with a few rides on it.
Posted by: haertig

Re: My urban kit - 04/19/13 05:49 AM

Are you looking for emergency supplies, or everyday comfort items?

Thermos? Water bottles (full) instead.
Washcloth? Large bandana instead.
Spoon and Chopsticks? ??? What for?
Reusable shopping bag? ??? I guess OK if you're planning on shopping.

LesSnyder already mentioned a flashlight and whistle and mask.

Cellphone (even a retired one without a service plan will work for 911 calls)
Toilet paper (don't you just hate it when the stall is without?)
Fingernail clipper with file (I'm surprised how often I find this useful)
Anything for self defense is probably out for NYC, so no need to mention

Re: My urban kit - 04/19/13 06:20 AM

Originally Posted By: haertig