Brain dead when having to call 911

Posted by: Mark_R

Brain dead when having to call 911 - 04/11/13 07:29 PM

I had a to call 911 today to report a motorcycle accident. A hexagenarian on a HD clipped a car and scattered himself and his bike across about 30-40 feet of pavement. It's not the first time I've had to call 911 (previous incident involved idiot neighbors and illegal fireworks), but I completely blanked on the street name when I was asked the location of the accident.

It is something that we should take into account when planning for emergencies. When the stress is on, you can expect to get dumb.
Posted by: bacpacjac

Re: Brain dead when having to call 911 - 04/11/13 07:45 PM

I bet it happens more often than you'd think.

Once upon a time, I used to be an Athletic Trainer, and was responsible for emergency care of a few travelling football and hockey teams. I used to have info cards for each location we played and stayed at, including address, major intersection, and a map of the location and building/field floor plan. It really helps to have the details written down, especially if you might have to ask someone else to call 911.

I guess with cell phones these days you could have all that info at your finger tips, but it takes time to find it. Of course, you're not going to walk around with hard copies of that info for every location you'll ever be in or pass through, but situation awareness would help. It's really easy to loose track of exactly where you are sometimes, and even if you don't, recalling that info in a crisis can be a challenge.
Posted by: LesSnyder

Re: Brain dead when having to call 911 - 04/11/13 07:47 PM

it helps to have a GPS to consult..
Posted by: dougwalkabout

Re: Brain dead when having to call 911 - 04/12/13 05:04 AM

Originally Posted By: IzzyJG99
... He instantly recognized his house. His wife (Older than him. Both in their 90's) was there with a deputy about to go look.

Good job.
Posted by: dougwalkabout