Not trained, what should be in my urban FAK?

Posted by: dweste

Not trained, what should be in my urban FAK? - 08/24/09 10:41 PM

I am not a medical professional and have only a little, outdated first aid knowledge.

What should I have in my urban FAK, how should it be organized?
Posted by: MDinana

Re: Not trained, what should be in my urban FAK? - 08/24/09 10:47 PM

How big will this be? Where do you plan on keeping it? Personal use, or treating others? If your training is minimal (ie, Boy Scouts or something similar), I'd stick with gauze, tape and a CPR mask.

Re: Not trained, what should be in my urban FAK? - 08/24/09 10:51 PM

Personal use primarily and maybe cigar box size.

Re: Not trained, what should be in my urban FAK? - 08/24/09 11:16 PM

Mini-triage means what exactly?

Re: Not trained, what should be in my urban FAK? - 08/24/09 11:26 PM

So how would you orgainize the urban FAK?

[And yes I will ask about a wildernass FAK some time and place later.]
Posted by: scafool

Re: Not trained, what should be in my urban FAK? - 08/25/09 02:03 AM

Note Well: I am not a medical professional and all advice I give about this should be independently verified.

The first thing is to update and hopefully upgrade your first aid training. The kit between your ears matters far more than the kit in your pack.

Gloves should be in your kit. You can do first aid without them, but they give you much more peace of mind when working on strangers.

You should have a watch for reading the pulse rate and a notebook with a pen to write it down with.

A cigar box should be big enough for a pair of crash scissors (bandage scissors?).
If you need to cut clothing they are less scary than a knife.

Sticky band-aids are good for minor cuts.