Hurricane Ida - Aug. 2021

Posted by: Blast

Hurricane Ida - Aug. 2021 - 08/28/21 10:45 PM

Well, things are going to get interesting. I'm a Red Cross shelter manager and will be stationed at the Red Cross shelter at the Orange County Convention & Expo center near the TX/LA border. My first shift will be Sunday night, 8pm-8am, working the registration desk.

If possible, I'll give you reports on what I'm seeing.
-Blast
Posted by: hikermor

Re: Hurricane Ida - Aug. 2021 - 08/28/21 11:22 PM

good for you! hope all goes well....
Posted by: Phaedrus

Re: Hurricane Ida - Aug. 2021 - 08/29/21 01:59 AM

Good luck and be safe!
Posted by: sgt253

Re: Hurricane Ida - Aug. 2021 - 08/29/21 01:32 PM

She's expected to be a real serious one. Best of luck to you and all in her path!
Posted by: LesSnyder

Re: Hurricane Ida - Aug. 2021 - 08/29/21 11:13 PM

shelter kit.... folding chaise lounge, cooler with ice and cold cuts/drinks, battery fan... LED area light...battery radio... noise cancelling head set to get some sleep....tooth brush/paste, bar soap... if you carry a flashlight, cable tie a split ring so you can attach it to your belt...BTDT

Re: Hurricane Ida - Aug. 2021 - 08/31/21 06:52 PM

Red Cross shelter rules and space limitations would prevent the chaise lounge and the cooler would have to be left in your car. We give everyone a bag with a towel, wash cloth, bar of soap, razor, feminine hygiene, shampoo, shaving gel, toothbrush, toothpaste, and dental floss. Kids get similar bags but they also include a small toy. Everyone also gets two blankets.

The flashlight, radio (until 10pm quiet time), and cable ties are a good idea.
-Blast
Posted by: sgt253

Re: Hurricane Ida - Aug. 2021 - 08/31/21 10:25 PM

Blast,
How are the conditions where you are? Were there a lot of folks from the greater New Orleans area able to get to your location? Ida seems to have been pretty serious from the reports were are getting up here.

Re: Hurricane Ida - Aug. 2021 - 09/01/21 02:12 PM

Update: