Hand Sanitizer Available

Posted by: Doug_Ritter

Hand Sanitizer Available - 04/10/20 07:21 PM

FWIW, these are the folks I get my sunscreen products from and they just sent an email showing in stock at fairly reasonable prices, all things considered: https://www.rmsunscreen.com/handsanitizers.aspx
Posted by: DaveL

Re: Hand Sanitizer Available - 04/11/20 12:26 AM

Thanks Doug
Posted by: nursetim

Re: Hand Sanitizer Available - 05/01/20 04:09 AM

The product is 62% alcohol. 70% is the minimum concentration for sanitization. This is what is taught in the dozens of hospital based infection control classes I have attended over the years.
Posted by: rafowell

Re: Hand Sanitizer Available - 05/01/20 06:23 AM

Originally Posted By: nursetim
The product is 62% alcohol. 70% is the minimum concentration for sanitization. This is what is taught in the dozens of hospital based infection control classes I have attended over the years.

I have no healthcare background, but the the CDC COVID-19 hand sanitizer page says that while 70% is the minimum when the alcohol is isopropanol, when the alcohol is ethanol (as in this sanitizer) 60% is sufficient, so the 62% ethanol in that sanitizer should be okay.

Specifically: "CDC recommends using ABHR with greater than 60% ethanol or 70% isopropanol in healthcare settings".

The USP comments: "laboratory data demonstrate that 60% ethanol and 70% isopropanol, the active ingredients in CDC-recommended alcohol-based hand sanitizers, inactivates viruses that are genetically related to, and with similar physical properties as, the 2019-nCoV."

However, the CDC page states: "laboratory data demonstrate that ABHR formulations containing 80% ethanol or 75% isopropanol, both of which are in the range of alcohol concentrations recommended by CDC, inactivate SARS-CoV-2." (Those are the concentrations in the standard WHO formulation that the FDC provided emergency authorization for).

So, 80% ethanol has a rather stronger endorsement.