N95 masks

Posted by: Russ

N95 masks - 04/30/09 12:54 PM

As regards N95 masks and influenza, a number of folks in the Flu Thread have indicated they don't work or don't give a good seal -- whatever. I've seen a number of news photos of folks wearing their masks with their nostrils exposed. What's the point of wearing a mask if you leave your breathing holes on the outside? Maybe they don't breathe through their noses.

The isolation masks we have here (99% EFF at .1 Microns) can be shaped around the bridge of your nose and they provide a good fit.
Posted by: Wheels

Re: N95 masks - 04/30/09 01:59 PM

I'm no expert on this but, as I understand it, any sort of regular dust mask is really only effective to the extent that it prevents the wearer from touching their own mouth and nose. A mask plus glasses or goggles would be the complete package to keep you from picking up the virus and infecting yourself with it.

Re: N95 masks - 04/30/09 02:17 PM

That could be true, virus' are pretty small critters and can get through some fairly small gaps when motivated. That said, when I wore these masks during the last wildfire here (SOCAL) it cleaned up the air a lot. As I understand the H1N1 virus is dependent on droplets and isn't "in the air". The mask will stop you from inhaling those droplets. . . maybe, I think, not sure but it won't hurt.
Posted by: Arney

Re: N95 masks - 04/30/09 02:56 PM

Originally Posted By: IzzyJG99
...too sciency...

"Sciency"? There you go again, Izzy, using all those big words again! wink

But seriously, we're all here to share and learn, so don't sweat it. I appreciate your many contributions.
Posted by: Greg_Sackett

Re: N95 masks - 04/30/09 06:37 PM

In the workplace, N95 masks are required to be fit tested just like any other respirator. Facial hair and face shape can make that difficult or impossible, so an N95 will not work for everyone.

That said, N95s or Pappers are what all of our hospital staff use in isolation areas.

Greg