Short Wave Radio???Recomendations please.

Posted by: CentralOklahoma

Short Wave Radio???Recomendations please. - 07/26/08 08:51 PM

Hello, I am new to the whole short wave radio subject. I am looking at buying a good one, hopefully one that can be hand crank recharged....But a good one that I can get "NEWS" from abroad in case power and information is "Cut Off" in my area of the central United States.

Let me know what you have and or have used. Let me know what you like.

I figure cost COULD go up in the range of $350.00 depending on what is DURABLE and has great range.

Should I be also looking at antenna suport systems for this?

Thanks in advance.

CP
Posted by: Fitzoid

Re: Short Wave Radio???Recomendations please. - 07/26/08 10:27 PM

This has been discussed ad infinitum here many times before. Try the search function. (Here's one.)

My $.02. Your infinitely better off with a $10 AM/FM radio. Major AM radio stations cover most of the country and have much more reliable reception.

(And I happen to own most of the popular wind up radios, as I collect radios period. They all have dismal shortwave performance, but even if they didn't, you want local information during an emergency, not the English language service of Deutche Welle or the BBC, all of which you'll only be able to pick up at night.)
Posted by: Am_Fear_Liath_Mor

Re: Short Wave Radio???Recomendations please. - 07/26/08 11:27 PM

Hi CentralOklahoma

The freeplay Summit has proably got most of the features you are looking for.

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/portable/0938.html

If you are looking to do some amatuer shortwave SIGINT gathering and listening then the RFspace SDR-IQ (which connects to your computers USB port) could be just the ticket.

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/commrxvr/0106.html

Re: Short Wave Radio???Recomendations please. - 07/26/08 11:42 PM