Hey, TonyE, help me with rope!

Posted by: Bingley

Hey, TonyE, help me with rope! - 10/31/20 10:38 PM

Can I call on the resident expert to help me with a rope question. I'm a complete novice...

I made an eye splice, and I whipped the splice using the method I found in a Youtube video -- probably the easiest method. I swung the rope energetically for 10 minutes like it's a jump rope, gripping it by the eye splice. The whipping came loose. I realize this is an elementary question for a master like you, but can you recommend a more secure method for whipping the rope?
Posted by: KenK

Re: Hey, TonyE, help me with rope! - 11/01/20 12:47 AM

I'm guessing that the first question will be what kind of rope it is. Material? Construction?
Posted by: TonyE

Re: Hey, TonyE, help me with rope! - 11/01/20 12:37 PM

Originally Posted By: Bingley
Can I call on the resident expert to help me with a rope question. I'm a complete novice...

I made an eye splice, and I whipped the splice using the method I found in a Youtube video -- probably the easiest method. I swung the rope energetically for 10 minutes like it's a jump rope, gripping it by the eye splice. The whipping came loose. I realize this is an elementary question for a master like you, but can you recommend a more secure method for whipping the rope?

It is best to use a non-slippery material for the whipping. If the "common whipping" failed google "sailmakers whipping" for a more secure method.
Posted by: Bingley

Re: Hey, TonyE, help me with rope! - 11/01/20 02:43 PM

Thanks for your responses, Tony & Ken.

I'm using a 1/4" hemp rope, and I'm using a hemp twine to do the whipping.

If it helps, I can upload an image. But it seems like the image hosting services I've used before no longer work for free. Can anyone suggest a solution?
Posted by: TonyE

Re: Hey, TonyE, help me with rope! - 11/01/20 03:52 PM

The whipping must be a tight as possible. This is easy to do with the
west country whipping