Might be time to change your passwords

Posted by: Mark_R

Might be time to change your passwords - 04/09/14 08:44 PM

A common encryption tool used to safeguard transmitted data has been breached.

http://heartbleed.com/

http://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/2014/04/09/heartbleed-five-questions/7501033/

Some websites have implemented the fix, but not all. As I understand it (I'm not a systems programer); If the site is still vulnerable, all changing you passwords will do is allow an eavesdropper to capture your new password. Not vulnerable sites have been fixed and should have the passwords changed, and No SSL sites require no action. Though if you share a password/username with an affected site, it would be prudent to change it.

https://github.com/musalbas/heartbleed-masstest/blob/master/top1000.txt
Posted by: MostlyHarmless

Re: Might be time to change your passwords - 04/09/14 10:00 PM

The breach has been fixed, but servers all over the world must install the latest versions of the OpenSSL software.

The breach can be compared to having top-notch security all over and around your house -- but if someone goes to the exact right location behind your garden shed and peeks into the gutter he can extract random pieces of information from the internal workings of the lock to your front door. Repeat this many times over and he will have enough information to replicate the keys to your house (and the code to deactivate your alarm.)

No doubt criminals all over the world are rushing to take advantage of this security flaw before all servers are upgraded. The smaller organisations with less resources will be the slowest to upgrade, and thus vulnerable for a longer time. Anyone seriously about internet security should have upgraded openSSL yesterday.

I've heard estimates that OpenSSL would be running on something like 60% of the servers on the internet.